Remove App Access to Your FB Profile [Facebook Privacy]

Remove App Access to your Facebook Profile Facebook Privacy Guide

I’d bet that many of us Facebook users have allowed a bunch of applications into your profiles, like ‘What character are you in X series?’ Once you’re done with these apps, you usually forget about them; and essentially forget about giving them access to your personal information (or even posting rights!) in your profile. However, what you need to remember is that for as long as they have access to your profile, they can do stuff to your profile as long as you have given them permission to.

You could remove access to your information in your profile settings; but for most users it’s essentially buried down there. Here’s a little nifty guide for you to remove access and block these old and obsolete apps that do not need access to your profile.

First, head over to the homepage after you login and select the Down Arrow just right beside the Home link.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 1

Once there, select Privacy Settings.

On the Privacy Settings page, scroll down and click the Edit Settings link beside the [Apps and Websites] section.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image  2

Next, click Edit Settings beside the header Apps You Use.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image  3

On the next page, you’ll see a list of all the applications that have access to your profile, starting from the most recent. Scroll down and see what applications you do not use anymore.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 4

One of these applications are most likely the ones you’d use for one time only. After which, should not have access anymore. In this example, I will use the app, “What Gundam Best suited for You?”. I’ve used it after some posts from friends and have wished that it will come out one of my favorites.

Once you’ve chosen an app, click on the Edit button to see what access they have.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 5

Once you’ve seen the access the app has, and if you deem that you no longer need its services, click on the Remove App to revoke its access to your profile.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 6

You’ll then be given a confirmation window, and, as a last resort, a chance to rate the app before you let it go for good.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 7

You can rate it if you want to; if not, just simply click on the Remove button and you’re all set.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 8

With that out of the list, you can browse your app list again and see what other applications have access to your profile.

It is suggested that you should go from the last page since the ones there are the apps that you’ve seldom or have not used for a long time.

To go there, just scroll down the page and click the right arrow.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 9

You can see the total number of apps that have access to your profile at the lower left corner of the page, and to estimate how many pages are there that you have to check out.

Remove App Access to Your Facebook profile tutorial image 9

In my case, I’ve been cleaning house regularly, so I only have 282 applications to check and monitor, or perhaps remove.

Ideally you should only be giving access to applications that you trust and those that matter to you; like those that support open authentication like Mediafire and WordPress; however, if there’s an application over at facebook that you wish to check out, just be sure to revoke its access in your privacy settings after use.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: